Current ongoing project (girls only)

My biggest current ongoing project is very important to me.

Drum roll pleeaase..

dadadadaaaa!

Upcycled (or not) Cloth Menstrual Pads!

okay, so I’m sure that the majority of you had a first reaction of  “ew that is so gross so gross.” And ultimately you may indeed be correct, however  not nearly as much as you might assume it would be. This is something that is very important to me and I believe in very much. I do not like to create any unneeded waste for our earth and I also do not like chemicals to be in, or against a passage way into my body. I highly recommend cloth pads to any woman and I am considering making some to sell on Etsy, so if you are interested or have suggestions make sure to give me a shout.

for an overview on how they are used, the pros and cons, how they are to be washed, stored, and lugged around with you click here 🙂

*********************

that being said, I have been making/using these for about about a half of a year. I have found many patterns and directions, and I have only successfully created and enjoyed one specific pattern. I got this free pattern from The Eco Friend Family and do not take any credit in creating it! I really like this pattern because of its small comfortable width and its descent sized length. (8 1/2 inch) I do not follow the directions written on the pattern because I found them time consuming and not necessary, If you follow the directions you will end up with a ‘prettier’ pad. However the beauty of the product does not matter to me, being that it goes in my underpants. Thus I leave messy edges and poor sewing lines. If you do not want these imperfections then by all means you should follow the directions directly. If, on the other hand, you are like me and just want a working product that does not take up much time to create, then here is your  steps. Along with advice and reasons of importance for each.

********************

Materials

  • 100% cotton- I prefer old t-shirts because they are really comfy! The amount isn’t specific, and one medium t-shirt will make 2-3 pads. (if you don’t want to upcycled for this project Cotton fabric can be purchased anywhere that sells fabric, and hemp fabric is a big alternative that I have not yet tried.
  • Fleece- This type of fabric is absolutely necessary in my opinion and I have used old cheap fleece throw blankets. You do not need very much at all for this, just enough to trace the pattern. One trace = one pad.
  • Pattern- printed out, you will need at least two copies!
  • Pins (or I used safety pins as a beginner sewing)
  • Scissors
  • Needle/Thread OR sewing machine and threads
  • Pencil
  • Snaps (like the ones on baby onesies)

*****************************

Steps

  1. Cut out the pattern, Cut one with the wings and one without the wings. 20131126-202044.jpg
  2. Place the wingless pattern, onto the Cotton fabric and trace the pattern. 2-4 times (You may fold it over these 2-4 times and trace once if you are feeling talented)
  3. Pin the 2-4 layers together as uniformly as possible.
  4. Sew (By hand or with machine) them together at the edges, or close to the edges
  5. You will want to create ridges in the pad by making ovals roughly the shape of your pad ♦    20131126-202355.jpg
  6. Trace the pattern with wings onto the fleece material(you only need 1)
  7. Sew the wingless, cotton layers onto the fleece. PICTURE!
  8. The snaps must either be hand sewn on, as I prefer OR there is an about $15 tool that will clip the snaps onto you’re fabric for you (YOU MUST BUY DIFFERENT SNAPS FOR THE TOOL THAN FOR HAND SEWING) —Snap sewing tutorial below if needed

♦= these ridges are very important because they make the pad more like to absorb faster and absorb in the way of length rather than width(keeps from side leaks) It helps to keep you the most dry, and hold the most. Without the ridges the pad will not function properly!

******************

Snap Sewing Instructions

attaching the snaps is actually very easy, but also very important to be done correctly!

  1. Get out the snap and make sure that you have both sides and they fit together
  2. When beginning sewing the snaps on be absolutely sure that you are sewing the correct side upwards! (especially with the socket!) I cannot tell you how many times I have sewn a snap the wrong way and had to resew it on.
  3. Additionally before sewing the snap on you must be sure that the know of the knot is on the opposite side that they snap together (if they knot is between the two snaps then it cannot clamp shut) PICTURE
  4. Now you are ready to sew the snap shut, keeping steps 2 and 3 in mind, start anywhere on the snap.
  5. Start by putting the needle through the hole in the snap, then back down on the out side of the snap.
  6. Move to the next snap hole and do the same, keeping moving until you have gone through each hole twice. (there will be two pieces of string holding onto each hole.

**************************************

***************************

if you have any questions, suggestions, or need clarifications, don’t hesitate to ask. I will be sure to get to them as soon as possible.

 

About llindsayllou

I am a young woman growing up in the United States. Learning more and growing more everyday, the more I find the less defined I feel. Looking to find myself and a place to call home in this busy, often times cold hearted world.
This entry was posted in Cloth Pads, Patterns, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

